How to Spot ‘bootleg’ anime figures

Hi! I’m about to tell you people how to spot, you guessed it, a fake anime figure. Let’s look at the Nendroid below:

This is not my nendroid, nor picture. If it is yours and you want it removed, please tell me.

Can you tell which one is fake? No? Yep, its the one on the left. See how shiny the nendroid on the left looks? BOOTLEG. BOOT-LEG.

Also, just look at the one on the right. It just looks so quality!

Let’s now focus on the face. I made the picture bigger so you can see it more clearly:

Again, this is not mine. Contact me if you want it removed.

See how far the eyes are apart? An the eyes don’t look as smooth, and look a little like a 4 yr old stuck stickers on it *shiver*. There is also discoloration on the mouth, a little bit like coloring out of the lines.

Look at this figure. How can you tell it’s fake, while in the box?

Not mine. Contact if you want it removed.

I personally think it looks as if it’s been tampered with. Look at the excessive amount of tape! So don’t fall pray to fake anime figures. Brush off you antlers and walk away! (okay,awkward.)

This is not mine. Contact me if you wish to have it removed.

Okay, here’s an boxed Yui figma. How can you tell if it’s real by the box? Look over in the top left corner….

Not mine. Contact if wished to be removed.

See it? That’s a sticker of approval. Like, let’s say you got a new baseball cap. It has an MLB sticker on it, right? Also, Nintendo games always have a ‘seal of approval’ on the back of the box. That’s basically what that sticker is. If you come across one on your box, it’s most likely to be real.

Another way of telling authenticity is by this sticker on the back of the box:

This is my photo 🙂

AAA Anime Distribution is a company that ships anime figures to retailers. Most likely, if your figure has this sticker, it is authentic.

Now just because it has the AAA anime distribution sticker and only that doesn’t mean it is fake.  Or if the box only has the silver sticker and no AAA sticker. Here, I’ll Quiz you on a figma..

1. 

F a k e or R e a l? Real! How can you tell? The TBS sticker in the left corner, and no dents in the box.

Well, I think you get it by know. Next Question: How can you tell before buying? Read my other post to find out!

So anyway, here’s a basic list of tips:

1. Dents in box? no.

2. No box? no.

3. No stickers? maybe so.

4. Ugly quality and disgusting coloration? no.

5. AAA anime sticker? Yes.

6. Silver sticker? Yes.

-Izzi

About animizzi

Salutations! I'm Izzi. I love anime and Japan and started blogging on wordpress Feb.12,2012. I hope you enjoy my blog! ^^

Posted on February 14, 2012, in Anime Figures. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment